Antiracism Reading & Resources

Canadian Women & Sport’s Commitment to Anti-Racism: https://womenandsport.ca/commitment-to-anti-racism/

Trek’s response to police use of bicycles criticized by Trek Women’s Advocate members: https://www.cyclingnews.com/news/treks-response-to-police-use-of-bicycles-comes-under-fire-from-trek-womens-advocates/

Anti-racism resources for white people – document compiled by Sarah Sophie Flicker, Alyssa Klein in May 2020: https://docs.google.com/document/u/0/d/1BRlF2_zhNe86SGgHa6-VlBO-QgirITwCTugSfKie5Fs/mobilebasic

Black Lives Matter: CAC Response and Resources: https://coach.ca/BLM-resources

How You Can Support Black People Today, Tomorrow & Forever: https://www.refinery29.com/en-ca/2020/06/9851684/black-lives-matter-how-to-help-donate-support

On Becoming Anti-Racist: https://cupofjo.com/2020/05/on-becoming-anti-racist/

Canada Beyond 150 – Learning About Racism: https://www.crrf-fcrr.ca/en/canada-beyond-150/learning-about-racism

Black Girls Smile – mental health resources for young African American females: https://www.blackgirlssmile.org/resources

7 Virtual Mental Health Resources Supporting Black People Right Now: https://www.bonappetit.com/story/virtual-mental-health-resources

For Our White Friends Desiring to Be Allies: https://sojo.net/articles/our-white-friends-desiring-be-allies


Cycling specific articles & conversations

Grégory Baugé on racism in pro cycling: You suffer alone https://www.cyclingnews.com/news/gregory-bauge-on-racism-in-pro-cycling-you-suffer-alone/

Teniel Campbell: I want to be remembered like Usain Bolt https://www.cyclingnews.com/features/teniel-campbell-i-want-to-be-remembered-like-usain-bolt/

Black Girls Do Bike “We Are Unstoppable!” https://www.bikeradar.com/advice/fitness-and-training/black-girls-do-bike-we-are-unstoppable/

Bike Rumour Podcast – A Conversation with a Black Cyclist https://bikerumor.com/2020/06/05/bikerumor-podcast-ep-036-a-conversation-with-a-black-cyclist/


Sport specific articles & conversations

Ahmaud Arbery and Whiteness in the Running Community https://www.outsideonline.com/2413115/ahmaud-arbery-murder-whiteness-running-community

FasterSkier.com Media Roundup: Elevating BIPOC Athlete Voices https://fasterskier.com/fsarticle/media-roundup-elevating-bipoc-athlete-voices-edition/


Books & Podcasts

Diangelo, R (2018). White Fragility: Why It’s So Hard for White People to Talk About Racism.

Saad, L (2020). Me and White Supremacy.

Cole, D (2020). The Skin We’re In: A Year of Black Resistance and Power.

Kendi, I (2020). How to Be An Antiracist.

Brown, J (2019). How to Be an Inclusive Leader. Your Role in Creating Clutures of Belonging Where Everyone Can Thrive.

Podcast – Scene on Radio, Season 2: Seeing White. sceneonradio.org